Steven Michael Smith Award for Valor
Proudly Sponsored by 


OTOA Award For Valor - Individual


Steven Michael Smith Award for Valor

This prestigious award is presented each year to the person, persons, or team who distinguish oneself or themselves through valorous actions during a life threatening action.Any person can nominate an individual or group who qualifies for recognition under the below criteria.

A selection committee reviews a situation in which the nominated individual or group clearly acted without regard for his or her own life to save a fellow officer or an innocent victim or victims.
The nomination(s) eligible for review shall be previous year of the awards banquet.
(example - Banquet in 2019, situation must occur in 2018 or earlier to be eligible for review)

All nominations must include the following:

  • Full Name.
  • Department / Agency.
  • SWAT Team assigned (if applicable).
  • Documentation of the event; Synopsis of the event in the body of an email or an attached Word document.
  • A contact person to verify the event, actions or conduct.



Submission Deadline: February 28

Send a question to OTOA Awards Chairman - Ramon Diaz

Copyright © 2012 - 2018 Ohio Tactical Officers Association - Promoting Professionalism in Policing since 1987 .
All Rights Reserved.